Two Hundred Feet

Before the sunrise, the fog made it gray
It was still a nice day
And the clouds hid the steel, and the steel stole the breath
Made you forget
The sounds from the cars were not very far
And two hundred feet can’t be that hard
I think they would say, think they would say
Four seconds could go either way
If I go right now, I might not change
My mind, change my mind

It’s a long way down
A long way down
A long way down
It’s a long way down
A long way down
A long way down
It’s a long way

It was such a clear day, on this fake golden bridge
And the words from your lips
They said please take a picture of me
I want to remember this clearly
And the railing, I gripped, and I started to lift

But it’s a long way down
A long way down
A long way down
It’s a long way down
A long way down
A long way down
It’s a long way down

And the tears ran down my cheeks
And the tears they fell with me

At the sunset, as the boats came to rest
And the birds reached their nests
The red it came out, and the cars they slowed down
And everyone got out
And what seemed like miles away is two hundred feet
But the more I wait, the more I think
I know they will say, know they will say
Four seconds cannot be that far
But the water’s cold, and the crash is hard
And I pray that I’ll break, hope I will break

And it’s a long way down
A long way down
A long way down
It’s a long way down
A long way down
A long way down
It’s a long way down

About AmpleAnchors

I'm just an avid writer. A teacher. A student. Showing feelings of an almost human nature... I love music and most of my writings are also songs. Someday soon I will post a link to my music too.
This entry was posted in Lyrics, Music, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

